CONNECT Committee Members

Magnus A. Haw (Chair)

Affiliation: NASA Ames Research Center

Position: Research Scientist

Bio: Dr. Magnus Haw is currently a staff scientist in the Thermophysics branch at NASA Ames Research Center where he specializes in experimental low-temperature plasma physics and plasma material interactions. For his undergraduate education Dr. Haw received a B.Sc. in physics from the University of British Columbia. He received his Ph.D. in physics from Caltech in 2018 for work on experimental and numerical studies of cavities, flows, and waves in arched flux ropes in the Bellan group. Currently his work includes studies of MHD instabilities in arcjet plasmas, plasma-surface interactions and development of new heatshield diagnostics for atmospheric re-entry.

Oak Nelson (Vice Chair)

Affiliation: PPPL

Position: Graduate student

Bio: Oak is a young plasma researcher currently completing his PhD work at Princeton University. He hopes to continue fusion research after graduate school with a focus on teaching and education. Oak is the chair of the Princeton Plasma graduate student committee and is engaged in several diversity and outreach programs, working actively to combat the gender- and race-related inequalities in our field and to make fusion and plasma research accessible to all.

Elizabeth Merritt (Past Chair)

Affiliation: Los Alamos National Lab

Position: Scientist (P-24)

Bio: Dr. Elizabeth Merritt is currently a staff Scientist in the Plasma Physics group (P-24) at Los Alamos National Laboratories where she specializes in experimental high-energy-density (HED) plasma physics and inertial-confinement fusion (ICF). For her undergraduate education Dr. Merritt received a B.A. in math and physics from Mount Holyoke College, with a concentration in optoelectronic for telecommunications. She received her Ph.D. in physics from the University of New Mexico in 2013 for work on rail-gun generated plasma jets done in collaboration with Los Alamos National Lab, where she remained for her postdoctoral work as well. Currently her work includes studies of hydrodynamic instabilities and turbulence under HED conditions, equation-of-state experiments, and development of inertial-confinement fusion platforms on large laser facilities like OMEGA, Omega EP, and the NIF.